How did I hear about the VX One

I have been asked how I found out about the VX One so here goes. In January I first saw a VX One in the US magazine ‘Sailing World’ where it won ‘Boat of the Year’ She looked good but I did not think too much about the VX until I say that there was to be a demonstration weekend at RANSA in May.

I then checked out all the information and videos that I could on the web and came to the conclusion that the boat looked like she performed well in light air right through to strong breeze. The one design nature struck a chord with me as I prefer one design racing. I ran the NSW Laser association for a number of years back in the late 70’s & early 80’s. Just as the Laser had been a boat ahead of its time back then I see the VX One ahead of its time now. It is a modern design which is a strict one design class and has exhilarating performance.

After checking out the videos my thoughts were that if she performs at the demonstration weekend as well as the videos seem to indicate then I’m sure it is a boat with a great future and I will want one.

I ended up helping Fred Kasparek the owner of the boat and Brian Bennett organize the weekend and sailed the boat more than Fred, including some great spinnaker rides in 25 knots with Cribby and then with Brian.

The performance of the boat was breathtaking so indeed I did want one and after some discussions with Brian I became the agent for them in NSW.

So far I have taken 30 people for a sail. They all love the boat, many have said that they would love to sail in a fleet of them. I do not think that there is a question whether the boat will take off or not. It is just a question of time. As soon as some commit to buy one others will follow soon after. The VX One is too good a boat not to take off.

I have made my first sale which is a big step. Phil Tomkins is due in Australia in February with another VX One that I will have for sale.

Leave a Reply

